Running, well, sort of

So I lived through my first day of Borgess Run Camp.  It was actually super fun.  I can say that, because my group didn’t so much run, as practice run.

Yes, practice run.  I was in the first timers 5k “where the hell do I belong??!!” group.  Now, you know I’ve done plenty of 5ks, but that my friends was walking.

My 1st 5k

Shelly, Instigator of Original 5k madness

Which, I’d like to point out, I’m hella good at.  I’ve also been sort of kick ass at training for 5ks…

5ks where walking is involved.

So this whole running thing is an entirely new beast, thus the practice run.  Sarah asked if I was in the group that was running out on Riverview (which is a whole hell long way away from where I actually was.)

I laughed heartily and said “uh, no Sarah, those were probably the marathon runners.”  She pressed for more info.  “Sooo, where did you run?”

With pride in my voice I shouted “in the parking lot!!”  Which, if you need to know is outside.  Where, if you still are interested, it was a mere 13 degrees.  For someone more accustomed to say, hot cocoa and peppermint schnapps, outside running in a parking lot was a really big deal.

I’d like to thank Deborah, who is the Running Instigator of this new version of 5k madness, Gazelle Sports for proving that Teal and Red is not just a Kelly J thing

Pattern available at YourLocalYarnShop

-it’s also the official colors of our Team Leaders Jackets, and KWAK who was there rockin’ it knitterly with all her hand knit awesome.

Which reminds me, I need a signature look.  I need to be highly visible so I don’t get hit by cars.  I’m was thinking this may be the way to go.

 

Leave a Reply

