Sorcerer’s Apprentice-Of course I loved it

From previous Snotty Reviews, you know I movies. I love to laugh out loud, cry hysterically and watch shit get blown up.  I  especially love blow’em up Summer movies.  The Sorcerer’s Apprentice was top knotch for all of that.  Ok, maybe the tears were due to laughing.

Ooh!  Ooooooh! Rowley from the Wimpy kid movie was in the beginning of SA also.  I am really rooting for that kid. I hope he’s like the next Jonah Hill.  For a kid actor, he’s good, likable, and totally not annoying.

Now I know some of you are NOT Nick Cage fans.  But me, I’ve loved him since he sang “he loves you, oooo-oooo-oooo in Peggy Sue got Married Sure he’s quirky, I mean really, he named his kid after Superman. Not Christopher Reeve, I mean really, after Superman-Kal-el. some of you know Pig 2’s real name, so, yeah, kindred spirits.

When asked if he’s crazy, Nick and I made the same hand gesturing, meaning “a little.”

Besides watching shit get blown up, I love looking for knitted items.  Of all people, it was Nicolas Cage rocking the best hand knits.

                                                                                                                                                                       So, he’s this super old Sorcerer who trained under Merlin, has great taste in cars, rocks an Oglvie Home Perm, and wears leg warmers on his arms.

 

Yes.  Burgundy stockinette stitch leg warms.  It rounds out his outfit of “old man shoes” dress slacks, a vest and shirt.

The Sorcerer’s Apprentice. Nicolas Cage, Jay Baruchel Ph: Abbot Genser © 2009 Disney Enterprises, Inc. and Jerry Bruckheimer, Inc

Next we have Jay Baruchel.  You know, if I had wanted to see a Christian Slater impression, I would have gone to my local Barnes & Noble.  Jay, stop with the lame!  You were so awesome in Tropic Thunder! (yes, that’s the movie I go to)  Or maybe Christian Slater’s voice and poor posture are what passes for low self esteem, and geeky.  
Alfred Molina!  Rock star mean with Rock star skinny assistant!  Very fun in this.  Fun in a mean way! Oh, you don’t remember Alfred??  You’ve seen Raiders of the Lost Ark, right?  He’s the little guy who steals the head from Indy and doesn’t throw him the whip!! 
Doc Ock in Spidey 2.  Nothing?  Wait, you’re telling me you remember him from Frida?    Nancy boy.
There is a random girl, love interest.  Which yes, she is needed for the movie, but the love part slows down the blowing shit up!  
So, a normal person would give this movie 3 out of 5.  I give it 4 out of 5 for making me laugh hysterically most of the way through (except for the love part.)  If you could manage to check this out at a drive in-straight up 5 out of 5.  
Please remember drive ins make even the shittiest movies…AWESOME!  It makes pretty good ones-WICKED AWESOME!
You may also want to remember that I still laugh at fart jokes, so, maybe you don’t want to trust my movie judgment.
6 responses to this post.

  1. I remember Alfred from Frida but I love him most from Spiderman.I want to see the movie but…will have to wait until it hit's DvD or the Bears go back to school because I want to enjoy Nicholas by myself (much like I do with all of his other movies). Yes, I love that quirky guy too.My favorite Disney clip is the Sorcerer's Apprentice. I even did a skit to the music one year for Olympics of the Mind way back when.

    Reply

  2. I loved this movie. Fun and well done. I'm thinking about making some arm warmers like Nick Cage had. Interested in a KAL?

    Reply

  3. I liked this movie a lot too. I have spent many hours trying to convince people to ignore that it is a Disney movie and has Nick Cage in it and give it a shot. And yes, I am going to make some of those "warmers."

    Reply

  4. Which came first? Raising Arizona or Peggy Sue Got Married? I loved him in both!

    Reply

  5. Valley Girl!! How could I forget about Valley Girl?? That was 1983. Peggy Sue in 86 and Raising Arizona in 87.

    Reply

  6. I do like movies, but I like to watch them at home; I can pause them, go to the bathroom, refill my wine glass, and grab more yarn. You can't knit or crochet in the dark at the theatre. Plus I really like the older movies.Sandy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

