Spinning, and dishcloths

Here’s my latest knitting project.

Ok, sure it’s an oversized dishcloth as a baby blanket.  But it’s alpaca and the yarn was spun by me. 
 That may be part of the problem.

This was the yarn that I had been stressing over the perfect pattern for all week.  Then to settle on the classic dishcloth pattern?  Maybe the barf fumes have gotten to me this week!

But this spinning thing is sucking me in! 
I started watching Spinsanity and Em, and then Chrystal all work magic with their drop spindles.  I was always asked “do you want to try?”  Oh, no.  I would not get sucked into their dirty sheep fleece and shrimp in the trunk madness!!

Of course I can’t resist jumping off that bridge for very long.  But I stunk at spinning.  I wouldn’t do it in front of other people, and secretly practiced at home.  There was a time when every round object in our house was wrapped in uneven scraps of yarn.  Ok, every round object is still covered in yarn, but it’s at least a lot more even now.

So far, I haven’t had a sheep fleece in my trunk.  But I have been known to volunteer at an alpaca farm or two.
It’s super fun, I’m loving everything I’m learning, and I can’t wait to spend more time with my fibery, spinny friends!
This was part of Fiber Arts Friday!  Check out the host blog and see what other awesome fibery people are up too! 
6 responses to this post.

  1. Your spinning is awesome and the blanket will be too. Rock on, Alpaca Spinner! You neglected to share that you have been spinning 100% Suri Alpaca on your drop spindle and it looks amazing. Yeah, I'm telling the world for you.

    Reply

  2. Your spinning is beautiful! Hope the barf fumes are leaving your house for good.

    Reply

  3. How does alpaca work as a dishcloth? I haven't tried yet.

    Reply

  4. Thank you all for the spinning love! I'm really enjoying it.Dutch Hollows=I've not used it for dishcloths. This will be a baby blanket.

    Reply

  5. Oh, wow, I love it! A handspun baby blanket? That's going to be quite the heirloom for a very lucky family!!!jess

    Reply

  6. I've got to find someone to teach me spinning. Your baby blanket will be one of a kind for a very lucky baby!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

