Why do I knit?

Knitting. Yep, I do it. Poorly.

I was going to link to examples of this on my blog, but there are too many disasters. Tiny shawls, mismatched mittens, sleeves-well of inappropriate size, “artistic” Kidney Kozies, to name a few.

I have issues:
1. gauge-I tend to ignore it, assume, just go for it. It may be a personality flaw.
2. lack of attention-huh?
3. size 7 needles that are mismatched (but I love them for their quirkiness)
4. a problem with authority that sadly even makes me fight against a written pattern
5. ideas outside of my skill set-The phrase “it’ll fit somebody” comes to mind.

For some damn reason I don’t stop though. I don’t put up with this kind of crap in other parts of my life, so why, oh why do I keep tormenting myself with knitting?

Friends.

I’ve met the greatest people,
had the most fun, cried, laughed and dreamed with friends. I wouldn’t have met a damn one of them without knitting.

(Yes, I swiped a quote from the movie Stand by Me)
“I never had any friends later on like the ones I had when I was twelve. Jesus, does anyone?”
I know I do.

Find a Knitting Group, Find your Best Friends. It may not help your knitting any, but you won’t regret it.
This was part of Fiber Arts Friday.
Connect with other Fiber Artists! Check out Wonder Why Alpaca Farm to take part!

5 responses to this post.

  1. I'm glad I 'met'you too! See you in May for sure!!!

    Reply

  2. Knitting groups are the best! Much more than actually knitting.

    Reply

  3. I can't even imagine having not met you. Knitting is actually my excuse to drive hours to see you. 🙂 And the Pigs. 'Cause they are cute. You're cute too. You know what I mean.

    Reply

  4. I love having you and all the ZPDK in my life. You, especially, have been such an amazing friend to me and it all began because I wanted to learn how to knit and you have a heart of gold. Thank you for your friendship and patience.

    Reply

  5. I don't think I would've made it through this last year without you and the ZPDK peeps. Even just reading the forum so I can think about something else for a few minutes and laugh until I pee–even just that has helped keep me sane, but so have the times we've gotten together. I know I've been annoying about the divorce crap, but you guys have all been wonderful about it anyway. I thank God/Goddess/Wool for all of you, and especially you, Holly.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

