Kidney Kozy Drop off!!

I just wanted to say thanks to everyone who has again, and again stepped up to the plate and put in extra time and energy and $ to work on the Kidney Kozy project.

(Oh, and not to mention every other crazy ass idea that we seem to come up with.)

I dropped off 14 Kozies to
FRESENIUS MEDICAL CARE
2845 CAPITAL AVENUE SW SUITE 104
BATTLE CREEK, MI 49014
(which was technically Kazoo Knit Crochet’s turf-but Home Grange donated some and that is where they wanted to send some, it’s down the road from them)

Which Kozy did you make?

Then I drove by the infamous pink ghetto house of 1000monkeysknit got flipped off by a construction worker, made the international sign for “kidney” and then jumped a curb and headed toward…and dropped off 10 to:

FRESENIUS MEDICAL CARE
BATTLE CREEK NORTH

233 E. ROOSEVELT STREET
BATTLE CREEK, MI 49017

I believe this is where a bowling alley used to be. If it is, wow, could I tell you a story about the first time I ever hung out with Beth and Robyn…but, this is about Kidney Kozies, not bowling alley forged friendships.

Christy was super nice, remembered meeting me at the National Kidney Foundation Kidney walk, and was gracious enough to not say “about time” or “what took you so long.”

So, again, thank you to all of you who worked on this project. It really was great to see all of our hard work, fun times, and laughter being dropped of with people who really appreciated it and would use it, no matter what size or color it was!!

Also, if you are ever bored and just want to do some mindless knitting…let me know, I’ll throw some yarn at you. There are always people who need their kidneys (or kidney) warmed up!!

Side note-In true Snotty form, I went from downtown to goat farm in 2 minutes. Yes, lost, lost lost.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Hi – I live in Atlanta and I love your blog. I want to be a Zombie Prom Knight Knitter also – if I lived a little closer – well, I am one in spirit anyway. What is a Kidney Kozy? I did a google search but didn't really come up with a definition. I assume it is a smallish blanket?Thanks – Hester

    Reply

  2. Oh yes, I don't have any kids in this life, but growing up with two brothers and having 12 nephews and great nephews and only 1 great niece, I completely understand the concept of knit with snot for you. Best – Hester

    Reply

  3. Hey Hester! You can still be a Zombie Prom Date Knitter in Atlanta! We have members from all over the world! You just have to be stout of heart and good with a shovel!As for Kidney Kozies-they can be a shawl, lap robe or small blanket, makers choice. We dubbed them Kidney Kozies since they were going to dialysis patients.When we make shawls for cancer pts we call them Cancer Capes, have a lung issue? We'll whip up a Lung Lovey in no time flat!It's all part of the fun!Welcome to the fun!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

