fabrications, mdot, zombie prom date, yeah, all that

Do you even know what you missed when you decided not to go to Fabrications last night? You missed a brush with fame and glory. The Zombie Prom Date Knitters are such fabulous people, full of faith, hope, charity, and are noted for fidelity. Semper Fidelis! But better than that, we do AWESOME things.

Check this,Other Dawn is a designer for Kalamazoo Knits!

Which is funny, because if you google kalamazoo knits patterns, you get Knit with Snot! Another famous person!!

I matched up Cascade’s 220 yarn to NFL Team colors. (thank you to Kelly J for help with some difficult colors. The Dolphins about brought me to tears. Coral? Come on. I live in Michigan, I got confused.

Ah, see that hand on the right? Evil camera gave her a break, but it’s Spinsanity in mid spindle hand off with another Other Dawn. AKA Kentucky Irish Dawn. Check the girly spindle.

I was asked to give spinning instruction. I snuck away, I pretended to knit, I ran out the door, knocked over a chair, dragged a knitting project, and caused general chaos, but I did not inflict my spinning technique onto another poor soul.

Poor Kentucky Irish still spins like I do. I told her my secret to good spinning…Captain and Cola. (For those who don’t know, the whole Rum and Coke thing started due to me reading the Aubrey/Maturin series about 5 years ago. It’s all ships, and cannons, and the hand of glory.

But, if the spinning doesn’t take off, it doubles as a weapon.

Em, fibers by Em. Available at Spinsanity’s shop. They go quick. So quick you think you imagined it.

Crystal? Photographer with nice camera. She of photo shop skills. She made our new zazzle t shirts. Check them out!
How are these two famous? Kidney Kozies. Darn Kidney Kozies.


Kai is actually too famous for an interview. He said “no photos, please, no flash photos.”

Abi is famous as being most prepared Zombie Prom Date Knitter.

At Knit Under the Stars, there was a bit of a hurricane and the festivities had to be moved indoors. When the power went out, Abi here said something along the lines of “It’s ok, I’ve got a flashlight.” Then pulled a flashlight out of her bag. Famos, prepared and brave.

After the Fabrications Brush with Fame Meet up I got busy with the Gemagic.
It started like this-“Ogre, where’s my safety vest? I have my bedazzler, but I can’t find my vest!! I neeeed it.”


The Ogre’s response was less than kind “Your vest is bright green, I’m sure it will turn up. Either that or you put it some place safe. Check the freezer. Why are you bedazzling during baseball?”

Sure mine is a Gemagic and a Bedazzler rip off, but it’s the same tacky idea. Really, safety green yellow? The first time I saw that, I thought “Rhinestone gems. That’s what I need. Sass it up a bit, make it Knit with Snot worthy!”

I mean I’d rather accessorize with my Sassy Summer Scarf, but I don’t want to get grody stuff on it while doing highway clean up. Highway clean up, you ask? Why, yes. Why else would I be putting rhinestones on an MDOT vest?

ADOPT A HIGHWAY INFORMATION

Ok Friends, Romans, People who need Volunteer Hours, Kids over age 12,

Our first clean up Meet Up is

Saturday July 11th, 2009 at 9am (0900 hours)
exit 85 McDonald’s Galesburg parking lot

YOU MUST WATCH THE SAFETY VIDEOS TO PARTICIPATE.
VID 1, VID 2 (a total of 6 minutes that could save your life)

I know this is early, but July has the potential to be hot. If this is too early for you, please drop your car off at McDonald’s at give me a call me, I will arrange a pick up for you. (This will also be a potty break for early workers. This is pretty awesome, no?)

From there we will be carpooling to the side of the highway in groups.
PLEASE URINATE BEFORE YOUR GROUP DEPARTS.
Bring a water bottle
Wear work clothes
Expect to get dirty

I will have several pairs of gloves, and big cooler of water in my car, along with bug spray, a first aid kit, and random other stuff that we may need.

Other handy stuff-a grabber nabber-aka a picker upper thing-a piece of wood with a nail in it to pick up creepy stuff.
a hat

If you don’t already have your safety vest, Spinsanity will have one for you the day of pick up.

We will schedule another day during the week, and possibly the following Saturday as needed.

Sorry to be so serious, but we have to be. Your safety is our biggest concern. Again, thank you for volunteering your time.

If you are a college or high school student who is doing this for volunteer hours, please bring your form to be signed. Thank you.

)

Leave a Reply

