Yarn, Science, it’s all GOOD!

So, where have I been? If you were thinking some sweet zombie slayers kung fu convention, you’d be so freaking wrong. I was saving the world, but in a lame, pedestrian sort of way.

You know, like in a CSI New York sort of way, but way slower and with lamer clothes, stool samples, and like no Lt. Dan. Yeah, I know, no Lt. Dan, right?

So, what the heck does this have to do with knitting? Well, I’m slowly getting there. To afford said knitting, I sort of had to take on a job. I’m serious. As it turns out, my blog is not as profitable as the Yarn Harlot’s, although, I do have more manageable hair. So because of job I am dealing with poo, and pee, and well, any darn fluid that is extracted from a human body.

Why did I chose this profession? The pay is hella good. Awww, yeah, I said hella good. I didn’t get the freakishly high sign on bonus like those prima donnas in radiology and oh, what’s that other touchy feely job that’s sort of voodoo? Right, physical therapy. I see that being out lawed when flying cars are in fashion.

But laboratory science, that’s cool! There are what, how many television shows almost entirely devoted to laboratory science? Let’s count…CSI, CSI:Miami, CSI:New York, and well, all of the Discovery Channel, oh, and the forensic files. Yeah, and you might as well count the X Files. Plus John and Kate Plus 8 practically counts because of the barfing episode. So that’s what, like 6-7? Right.

Money, fame, and money for knitting. Go to KCC (in the Kalamazoo/Battle Creek area) , talk to Kay in the MLT program and say that Holly sent you. She’ll remember me. You don’t even need my last name. Trust me on this one.

Now, what do I want to do when I’m done making cold hard cash at work? Besides eat right, and exercise because frankly American lab results scare the crap out of me (good thing I think I’m Canadian.) Well, after I burn dinner and play outside with the pigs I like to knit, or at least think about knitting. What am I thinking about knitting right now?

This ribbed (ribbed!) lace bolero for an upcoming wedding (kristin! Hey, does that mean I will get to hang out with tracyb!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!???????!!!!!!!!!) You know, so I can look sassy, and distract from my bad hair.

Do I have yarn for this in my stash? Yes, Like three bads full! ButI’m weak, and that’s why I have they sweet job right? To pay for yarn? yarn is

Oh and look who is having a sale! You know I need to support my local scene…

Sale at Stitching Memories in Portage. I know, just call me the Pimp. But really, 25% off? How can you resist? It’s like air, or wine, you could die without it.

The sale begins tomorrow….. Monday, April 7 and runs through Saturday, April 12!

This sale is easy….I need a little easy and so do you!
So, here you go…
Knitting needles are 10% off, everything else knitting/crocheting is 20% off, even the sale yarns!
Everything Cross Stitch and Needlepoint are 30% off.
But that that’s not all…. in an effort to go green, bring your own bags in to carry your purchase out, and get an additional 5% off your entire purchase! I know I wouldn’t pass up 25% off on some yarn!
Reminder: this is not valid on previous purchases or special orders and it is not valid on framing, finishing or classes.
See you soon for the stampede!
Kelly J for Stitching Memories!
3 responses to this post.

  1. Between the Webs moment of Zenith weakness and the trip to Threadbear’s sale, I think even David would tell me to lay off the plastic. *blush* Still, I got good deals, so I’m not complaining or anything, but I really should go on a stash diet. You know, like I should go on a real diet, too. Ugh.

    Reply

  2. Holly – somehow I missed this post the other day. Can you teach me how to be a lab geek person? I want to make some more money. 🙂 I know NOTHING about science, though – apart from what I’ve learned watching Alton Brown. I guess I don’t have the required skill set, eh?

    Reply

  3. Science is fun!Go to your local community college and say sign me up! Ok, I don’t know how it works in Canada, but that’s about all it takes here. But it’s a good start.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

