Tuscany Shawl-Done, Done, Done

Here is the mighty Tuscany shawl. I say mighty for many reasons. It was mighty fun to knit, it was mighty quick to make and that Hand Maiden Sea Silk is mighty strong.
I tried to break it with my hands, and well, let’s just say I had to get the scissors and there was no random swearing.
I am so excited to post it over at the No Sheep for You Knit-a-long!
I found out what it takes for me to learn the 2 socks on 2 circular needles method.
I needed to have the toilet flood twice, a kid with strep throat and the constant begging for toast and soda from the non sick kid. Serious. I bribed them with popsicles and had complete silence and I couldn’t do it.
These were my main issues
1. I didn’t realize I had to cast on the second sock, and then physically remove it and put it in front of the first sock, in turn magically making it begin as the second sock and ending up the first sock. Which for some reason seemed like such a waste of time, and I was sure I could figure out a more sensible way, which was in fact a waste of time.
2. The whole knit the front half of sock 1, stay on same needles, pick up new yarn and knit front half of second sock, keep yarn, switch needles, knit back of second sock etc. I thought you knit all stitches of first sock, and then all stitches of second sock. If you do that, you get a weird figure 8 moebius mess. Yep.
Look how awesome that Sea Silk looks with my favorite green t. Also, I guess my hair really is brown.
This is super Cy, my star photographer!
Now, where are my summer goals…Tuscany Shawl done, practice pair of 2 circ socks started, and Gryffindor House color yarn ordered. Awesome.
4 responses to this post.

  1. That’s very beautiful. How many skeins did it take, and where is the pattern from?Thanks,Psyched2Knit@gmail.com

    Reply

  2. I used 1 skein of sea silk, and the Tuscany Shawl pattern from the No Sheep for You book by Amy Singer.

    Reply

  3. Love the shawl! Looks like the socks are coming along. It’s not so bad once you get the hang of it. Sorry I wasn’t more help. 🙂

    Reply

  4. I’m doing ok with the socks now, I think! It’s fun, it’s just very stringy, the cat loves it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

