Whitewashing is Fun!!

Hey Tom, whitewashing that fence sure does look fun!

Shelly spinning on a Majacraft

Can I give it a try?

Me attempting to spin

Now, I’ll admit it, if you do something and make it look all awesome and easy…I’m there.  I fully blame Spinsanity, not Shelly,  for my desire to spin.  Spinny was drop spindling this blue fluff with sparkley stuff in it, and I finally said “OOOH!  I want to spin Dumbledore’s beard too!! (But I WANT Shelly’s majacraft.)

So when I saw this much fun going on, I wanted to be part of that action.

Hat Felting Form

Pre Felted, Felted Hat

Still Pre Felted, Felted hat

It’s all fun with fluff.  How difficult can it be?

Sadly, much like spinning, there are some techniques involved.  Like, the fluff needs to go to the bottom of the form.  You know, because it shrinks.  Yeah, skipped that.

Then, during the felting, the use of bubble wrap is somehow involved.  I’ve spent much of my adult life avoiding bubble wrap.  No, I don’t enjoy popping it, and it’s bad for the environment!  So, I improvised.

Turns out, improvising in hat making is not the same as improvising in baking.  Adding rum does not make it better.

I made an elf hat.

So friends, please don’t do anything else fun in front of me.  I’m all up for excitement and new things, I’m just not very good at them!

Sure, technically I wrote this Thursday, but it’s the most Fibery Fiber Arts Blog I’ve done on a Fiber Arts Friday.

So, if you’d like to read about other Fiber Artists…go to our Fiber Arts Friday Host’s blog-Wonder Why Alpaca Farm.  Read more adventures, and link your adventures in Fiber!!

8 responses to this post.

  1. I have some Norwegian wool in my shop that is the easiest roving on the planet to spin. Perfect for getting use to a wheel. You should check it out!

    Reply

  2. Posted by woolandchocolate on September 16, 2010 at 2:56 pm

    Heehee. What a crack up! I have resisted the urge to learn to spin for a long time, but I must confess, it is going to win soon. As for felting, well, I needle felt, but all that water and soap and mess? Not for me.
    At least you had fun!

    Reply

  3. I’ll help you make felting fun….look how much you enjoy spinning now. You’re not even doing it in secret. We’ll get you to enjoy felting…I promise. I’ll bring the Wonder and you bring the Awesome. See, it’s a no fail project!

    BTW, I look good in those pics, don’t I? I should have gone gluten free years ago. bahaha

    Reply

  4. Welcome to the spinning world. It’s a rough start but when you get the feel of it it’s so addictive.

    Reply

  5. That elf hat is adorable! Happy Fiber Arts Friday to you. See you next weekend…

    Reply

  6. Hahaha! You look like you were having fun! Good for you in trying new things. Your hat came out adorable. 🙂

    Reply

  7. Felting IS fun, even when you end up with something that’s not what you wanted.

    I think the elf hat is cute, and I think you should felt up some elf shoes to go with it. 😉

    Reply

  8. […] Whitewashing is Fun!! September 2010 7 comments 3 […]

    Reply

Leave a comment